Kid Cudi has checked himself into rehabilitation centre, citing a long-running struggle with anxiety and depression.

The Cleveland-born rapper, who rose to worldwide prominence with hit single Day ‘n’ Nite in 2008, made the announcement in Facebook post on his official page yesterday

“Yesterday I checked myself into rehab for depression and suicidal urges”, he said in the post. “I am not at peace. I haven’t been since you’ve known me. If I didn’t come here, I wouldve done something to myself. I simply am a damaged human swimming in a pool of emotions everyday of my life”

The artist went on to assure fans that his upcoming album would still be released – “I wont be around to promote much, but the good folks at Republic (Cudi’s record label) and my manager Dennis will inform you about upcoming releases. The music videos, album release date etc. The album is still on the way. Promise. I wanted to square away all the business before I got here so I could focus on my recovery”

The upcoming record the referred to, Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’, will be the artist’s sixth full-length studio album, and will feature guest spots from André 3000 and Pharrell Williams, among others. The album is expected to be released before the end of October.

 

